Environmental Think Space

The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing – Albert Einstein

The Dark Mountain Project

Leave a comment

brain_hijinks

I was directed to an article discussing today’s environmentalism as “technocratic, pseudo-scientific, data-centred; entirely focused on ‘realistic’ ‘solutions’ to a problem which is never very well defined”  where there’s “no time for romance” and “the technocratic takeover of modern environmentalism is virtually complete now, and those who do not buy into it are left with nowhere to turn but the fringes: well-meaning hippy eco-settlements or the self-defeating identity politics of protest.”
Which leaves you to question what actually moves modern greens? I know for myself, I am a kind of ‘romantic’ that this article describes and I actively try to fight against that which tries to squash this emotion that fuels my drive. I can certainly feel today’s society does not want much part in this emotion, especially when I turn to the environmental job market. As I scroll through numerous jobs in which if I applied for and got, I would feel like I was selling out to something I don’t necessarily agree with and turning my back on that emotion that I feel towards our earth.

The author of the article, Paul Kingsnorth, is described as a writer, poet and recovering environmentalist. He was a former deputy editor of The Ecologist magazine and a co-founder and Director of the Dark Mountain Project.

logo

The Dark Mountain Project was launched in 2009 and is a network of writers and artists who have stopped believing the stories our civilisation tells itself. Every year they publish an anthology of Uncivilised writing in which anyone can contribute, and also run a blog on their website. I’ll leave you to explore the Project more for yourself, but leave you with their definition of Uncivilisation:

“For us, Uncivilisation is a process: the stripping away of forms of thinking and ways of seeing which might be termed ‘civilised’ – those associated, for example, with control, measurement, management, disconnection from nature, reason-over-intuition and the like. Our art, our writing and our culture more generally is, we believe, over-civilised.As an alternative, we propose a form of cultural engagement which is rooted in place and time, takes an ecocentric view of the world and is not taken in by ephemeral promises of growth, progress and human glory.”

Leave a Reply

